Click acá para ir directamente al contenido

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Chilean woman nominated for the 2019 ASPIRE Science Prize

The APEC jury has selected the 15 nominees who will compete for the 2019 APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education ("ASPIRE"), which will be presented during the third Senior Officials Meeting (SOM3), to be held in the city of Puerto Varas.

APEC has been highlighting cross-border innovation through the ASPIRE Prize since 2011. This is an annual recognition of young scientists who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in scientific research.

Among the 15 nominees who will compete for this year's prize is a Chilean, Dr. Tamara Contador Mejías of Universidad de Magallanes.

Tamara Contador is a biologist who specializes in freshwater ecosystems, and her work has led to the identification and assessment of one of the most valuable natural laboratories in Chile: the Magallanes Sub-Antarctic ecoregion in UNESCO's Cape Horn Biosphere Reserve.

Her research focuses on the adaptations of Sub-Antarctic and Antarctic aquatic insects to global changes in freshwater ecosystems through the study of their ecophysiology, life histories and distribution.

The research will be evaluated based on the impact of the work, the nominee’s academic publications and their collaboration with colleagues from other APEC economies, which is required.

The winner will receive a US$25,000 prize from Wiley and Elsevier, publishers of academic and scientific knowledge. Competing alongside Dr. Contador are 14 nominees from various APEC economies such as Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, the People's Republic of China, Indonesia, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Peru, the Philippines, Chinese Taipei, Vietnam, the United States and Thailand.

Related Posts